publishing.co.uk
Tools & Software

Book Studio vs Vellum (2026): Which Fits Your Finished Book?


Checked for accuracy · 1 October 2026

Written 1 Oct 2026. Vellum UK prices read off store.vellum.pub in a UK browser on 30 Sep 2026; features read off vellum.pub and help.vellum.pub on 1 Oct 2026. Book Studio facts read off studio.publishing.co.uk. Anything a vendor's own pages do not state is marked as not stated, which is not the same as proof they lack it.

Would you rather we just formatted it for you? KDP-ready PDF + Kindle EPUB from £69
See formatting →

Quick answer Checked 1 October 2026. Vellum costs £199.99 for paperbacks and ebooks (Vellum Press) or £159.99 for ebooks only, plus VAT, paid once, and it runs only on a Mac. It is the polished choice for Mac users who will publish many books and want fine control over the design. Book Studio costs £29.99 a book including VAT and runs in any web browser: you upload your Word file, it makes the paperback, Kindle ebook and covers, shows them beside your Word file, and checks every page against your file and Amazon’s print rules before you pay. On Windows, or publishing one book, the studio is the simpler route.

I run publishing.co.uk, and the Book Studio is ours, so weigh everything here knowing that. I earn nothing from Vellum and there is no affiliate link on this page. Where I describe Vellum I quote its own website and help pages, and where they are silent I say so.

The verdict, by the kind of author you are

You are…ChooseWhy
On Windows, Linux or a ChromebookBook Studio“Vellum is only available for Mac”, and its help says Vellum doesn’t “have plans to develop a native version for Windows”. The studio runs in any web browser.
On a Mac, publishing a seriesVellumOne payment covers every book, and it has 24 trim sizes, large print and hardcover.
Publishing one finished bookBook Studio£29.99 for that book, against £199.99 plus VAT for Vellum Press.
Wanting to see your Word file beside the finished bookBook StudioThe studio shows them side by side. Vellum’s preview shows the finished styling, but “does not allow you to make edits to your text”.
Needing covers tooBook StudioIt makes paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers. Vellum’s pages do not say it makes covers.
Wanting accessible ebooks with a stamp to prove itVellumIts site lists “ACE-Approved Accessible Output”.

What each one costs in the UK

Vellum EbooksVellum PressBook Studio
Price£159.99 + VAT£199.99 + VAT£29.99 a book, including VAT
What you can makeEbooksEbooks and paperbacksPaperback, Kindle ebook and covers
Paid howOnceOnceOnce per book, when you take your files
Before you payFree to download, build and preview; “A purchase is only necessary when you’re ready to publish.”SameFree to upload, check and change; no card needed
Refund“cancel your purchase within 30 days for a refund”Same30-day money-back guarantee, and “Amazon-ready or your money back”
Sourcestore.vellum.pub, UK browser, 30 Sep 2026Samestudio.publishing.co.uk, 1 Oct 2026

Vellum’s store says “Price does not include VAT”. At the UK’s standard 20% rate, that makes Vellum Press £239.99 and Vellum Ebooks £191.99 if VAT is added at checkout. Eight studio books cost £239.92, so Vellum Press costs less from the ninth book on, if you have a Mac. From a US browser Vellum shows $249.99 and $199.99.

What each one does, from their own pages

Book Studio’s side-by-side screen: the author’s Word file on the left and the finished paperback on the right, with Word page 2 beside paperback page 11

Book Studio’s side-by-side screen, with the Word file on the left and the finished paperback on the right. Our own sample book, captured 24 September 2026.

VellumBook Studio
Runs onA Mac only, macOS 13 or newerAny web browser
Starts fromImporting a Word .docx fileThe Word file you wrote your book in
MakesEbooks for each store, “Validated Files in EPUB 3 / EPUB 2”, and print PDFs: “Paperback or Hardcover”, “Professional-Grade PDF/X-1a”Paperback PDF, Kindle ebook, and paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers
CoversNot statedYes, fitted to your page count
Page sizes“24 Trim Sizes + Large Print”16 Amazon sizes
Fonts“a number of fonts designed for print”; your own fonts not stated19, plus your own font
Looks“dozens of built-in style options”6 one-click looks, or set the typeface, text size, chapter openings and colours yourself
PreviewShows the finished styling; “does not allow you to make edits to your text”The finished pages, side by side with your Word file
Change the wordsIn Vellum’s editor, not in the preview“Edit any word”, then the pages are set again
VersionsNot statedEvery version kept; every change can be undone
Checks the finished bookIts help recommends “proofing using Amazon’s Kindle Previewer utility” and other readersEvery word, every bold and italic, and Amazon’s print rules, measured on the pages
Readers’ commentsNot statedA private link where readers comment on the pages, no account needed
Ask for a change in plain wordsNot statedYes: type what you want, such as “make the chapter titles bigger”
Licence“A license is tied to an individual, and cannot be shared with others.”Per book

Where Vellum wins

  • Many books on a Mac. One payment, free updates, every book you make. From the ninth book, Vellum Press costs less than the studio.
  • Design polish and range. “Dozens of built-in style options” and 24 trim sizes plus large print, against the studio’s 6 looks and 16 Amazon sizes.
  • Hardcover interiors and store-by-store ebooks. Vellum makes hardcover print files and separate files for each ebook store. The studio makes a hardcover cover, and you use the same inside file for the hardcover.
  • Accessibility. Vellum lists “ACE-Approved Accessible Output” for its ebooks.

Where Book Studio wins

Book Studio’s check page for a 28-page sample book: every check passed, including Amazon’s 10 print rules with each measurement shown

The check page for the same sample book: your words, your bold and italic, the layout against your Word file, and Amazon’s print rules with each measurement. Captured 1 October 2026.

  • It works on Windows. Most UK authors write on Windows. Vellum needs a Mac, and its help says there are no plans for a Windows version.
  • One book costs £29.99. Vellum Press costs £199.99 plus VAT before you have published anything.
  • Your Word file beside your book. The studio shows your own file and the finished pages side by side. Vellum’s preview cannot be edited and does not show your Word file.
  • Proof before you pay. Every paragraph and every bold and italic is checked against your Word file, and every page is measured against Amazon’s print rules with a safety margin. Vellum’s help sends you to Amazon’s Kindle Previewer and other readers to check the result yourself.
  • Covers and your own font. The studio makes the covers and lets you use your own font. Vellum’s pages do not say either.
  • Every version kept. Every change in the studio can be undone. Vellum’s pages do not describe version history.

What I could not verify

  • Whether Vellum makes covers or lets you add your own fonts. Its pages I read do not say.
  • How many fonts Vellum includes. Its help says “a number of fonts designed for print”.
  • Whether VAT is added at Vellum’s checkout for every UK buyer. The store says the price “does not include VAT”.

Before you choose

  1. Check your computer. No Mac, no Vellum. If you have a Mac, Vellum lets you build and preview the whole book before you pay.
  2. Count your books. Under eight: the studio costs less. More than that, on a Mac: Vellum Press does.
  3. Decide how you will check the book. Vellum leaves the proofing to you and Amazon’s previewer. The studio checks the book against your Word file and Amazon’s rules, and shows you the result before you pay.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use Vellum on Windows?

No. Vellum’s site says it “is only available for Mac”, and its help says Vellum doesn’t “have plans to develop a native version for Windows”. It suggests renting a cloud Mac instead. Book Studio works in any web browser, including on Windows.

How much is Vellum in the UK?

Vellum’s UK store shows Vellum Press at £199.99 and Vellum Ebooks at £159.99, and says “Price does not include VAT” (checked 30 September 2026). With 20% VAT that is £239.99 and £191.99. It is a one-time purchase.

Is Vellum worth it for one book?

For one book on a Mac, Vellum Press costs £199.99 plus VAT. Book Studio costs £29.99 for that book, with the covers, and checks it against your Word file before you pay. Vellum becomes the cheaper option after about eight books.

Can I edit my book in Vellum’s preview?

No. Vellum’s help says the Preview “displays the full styling that appears in your finished book, and does not allow you to make edits to your text.” You edit in Vellum’s editor and look at the result in the preview. In Book Studio you can change any word and the pages are set again.

Does Vellum check my book for Amazon?

Vellum’s site says its ebook files are validated EPUB. For checking the book, its help recommends “proofing using Amazon’s Kindle Previewer utility”. Book Studio checks every word, bold and italic against your Word file, and measures every page against Amazon’s print rules.

Robert Prime — Founder of publishing.co.uk

About the Author

Robert Prime

Robert Prime is a best-selling self-published author, veteran eCommerce strategist, and the founder of publishing.co.uk. With over 25 years of experience in digital business he brings a battle-tested perspective to the publishing industry. After experiencing firsthand the archaic, headache-inducing process of formatting a KDP-compliant book for his own best-seller, Google. Panic. Repeat., Robert built publishing.co.uk to solve the problem for other authors. He is also a co-owner of the LoveReading.co.uk network (the UK’s leading book discovery platforms), founder of the Amazon growth agency MrPrime.com, and a member of the Forbes Business Council.