Quick answer Checked 1 October 2026. Reedsy Studio is free to write and format in, in a web browser with a free Reedsy account. It exports an EPUB and a print PDF in four trim sizes with three templates, and its pages do not mention covers or hardcovers. Book Studio costs £29.99 a book including VAT: you upload the Word file you wrote your book in, it makes the paperback, Kindle ebook and covers in any of 16 Amazon sizes, shows them beside your Word file, and checks every page against your file and Amazon’s print rules before you pay. If you are still writing, or your book suits one of Reedsy’s four sizes and you don’t need covers, Reedsy Studio is free.
I run publishing.co.uk, and the Book Studio is ours, so weigh everything here knowing that. Reedsy Studio is a good free tool, and for many novels it is enough. Where I describe it I quote Reedsy’s own pages.
The verdict, by the kind of author you are
| You are… | Choose | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Still writing the book | Reedsy Studio | You write and format in the same place, free. The studio starts from a finished Word file. |
| Publishing a novel at 6 × 9, 5.5 × 8.5, 5 × 8 or 4.25 × 6.87 inches | Reedsy Studio, if you don’t need covers | Those are its four sizes, and formatting is free. |
| Needing another size | Book Studio | 16 Amazon sizes, against Reedsy Studio’s four. |
| Needing covers | Book Studio | It makes paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers. Reedsy Studio’s pages do not mention covers. |
| Wanting your own look or font | Book Studio | Reedsy Studio has three export templates, and its font settings “do not affect your exported books”. The studio has 6 looks, 19 fonts and your own font. |
| Wanting proof the book matches your Word file | Book Studio | It checks every paragraph and every bold and italic against your file, and Amazon’s print rules on every page. Reedsy says it tested its EPUBs for store compatibility. |
What each one costs
| Reedsy Studio | Book Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Price to format | Free: “Every function that you need to write and format a book in Reedsy Studio is free, and always will be.” | £29.99 a book, including VAT |
| Paid extras | Writing add-ons: “Studio Essential ($4.99/month) or Outlining ($7.99/month)” | None |
| Account | “Access Studio by creating a free Reedsy account.” | Sign in with your email address |
| Promise | None stated | “Amazon-ready or your money back”, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Source, 1 Oct 2026 | reedsy.com/studio | studio.publishing.co.uk |
Reedsy’s own cost guide puts paying a freelancer for interior design at “$800 on average (…or $0)”, and says “Around 50% of book interior design projects on Reedsy cost between $475 and $1,275.” Both Reedsy Studio and Book Studio are far below that.
What each one does, from their own pages

Book Studio’s side-by-side screen, with the Word file on the left and the finished paperback on the right. Our own sample book, captured 24 September 2026.
| Reedsy Studio | Book Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Runs on | A web browser only: “you can only access Studio through an online browser” | Any web browser |
| Starts from | Writing in Reedsy Studio, or importing “your current manuscript from any major text format” | The Word file you wrote your book in |
| Makes | “EPUB 3” and “PDF (PDF/X-1a:2001 for print-on-demand)” | Paperback PDF and Kindle ebook, and paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers (the paperback file is also the hardcover’s inside) |
| Covers | Not stated | Yes, fitted to your page count |
| Page sizes | Four: 6 × 9, 5.5 × 8.5, 5 × 8 and 4.25 × 6.87 inches | 16 Amazon sizes |
| Looks | Three export templates: Reedsy, Classic and Romance | 6 one-click looks, or set the typeface, text size, chapter openings and colours yourself |
| Fonts | Set by the template; in-app font settings “do not affect your exported books” | 19, plus your own font |
| Preview | “see your book’s final format as you write” | The finished pages, side by side with your Word file |
| Change the words | In the editor, as you write | “Edit any word”, then the pages are set again |
| Versions | “View past drafts, compare changes, and restore previous versions. 30 days are included for free” | Every version kept; every change can be undone |
| Sharing | “Share a link to an online preview of your book (or a single chapter)”; free previews are read-only | A private link where readers comment on the pages, no account needed |
| Working with others | “Invite your co-author, editor, or proofreader to work on your book” | Readers comment on the pages through a private link |
| Checks the finished book | “We have rigorously tested our EPUBs to ensure maximum compatibility with all distributors and retailers.” A check of each book is not stated | Every word, every bold and italic, and Amazon’s print rules, measured on the pages |
Where Reedsy Studio wins
- It is free. Writing and formatting cost nothing, and Reedsy says they always will.
- Writing and formatting in one place. You can write the book in Reedsy Studio and see its final format as you go.
- Working with others. Co-authors, editors and proofreaders can work in the book with you, and Reedsy’s marketplace editors can work in it directly.
- Version history. Thirty days of drafts on the free plan, with more on a paid add-on.
Where Book Studio wins

The check page for the same sample book: your words, your bold and italic, the layout against your Word file, and Amazon’s print rules with each measurement. Captured 1 October 2026.
- Covers. The studio makes paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers to fit your page count. Reedsy Studio’s pages do not mention covers.
- More sizes and more looks. 16 Amazon sizes, 6 looks, 19 fonts and your own font, against Reedsy Studio’s four sizes and three templates.
- Proof before you pay. Every paragraph and every bold and italic is checked against your Word file, and every page is measured against Amazon’s print rules with a safety margin.
- Your Word file beside your book. The studio shows your own file and the finished pages side by side.
- Comments from readers without an account. The studio’s private link lets readers comment on the pages. Reedsy’s free previews are read-only.
- Every version kept. Reedsy’s free plan keeps 30 days of history. The studio keeps every version, and every change can be undone.
What I could not verify
- Whether Reedsy Studio makes covers or hardcover files. Its pages I read do not say.
- Whether you can change words directly on Reedsy Studio’s preview. Reedsy says you see the final format as you write.
- Reedsy’s add-on prices in pounds. Its pages show US dollars.
Before you choose
- Are you still writing? Then Reedsy Studio is a free place to write and format together.
- Check your trim size. If it isn’t one of Reedsy’s four, use a tool with more sizes.
- Decide who makes the cover, and how you will check the book. Reedsy Studio leaves both to you. The studio makes the covers and checks the book against your Word file and Amazon’s rules before you pay.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Reedsy Studio really free?
Yes. Reedsy says “Every function that you need to write and format a book in Reedsy Studio is free, and always will be.” Paid add-ons for writing cost “$4.99/month” or “$7.99/month”. Book Studio costs £29.99 a book, including VAT.
What trim sizes does Reedsy Studio offer?
Four: 6 × 9, 5.5 × 8.5, 5 × 8 and 4.25 × 6.87 inches, with three templates (Reedsy, Classic and Romance). Book Studio offers 16 Amazon sizes.
Does Reedsy Studio make book covers?
Reedsy Studio’s pages do not mention covers. Book Studio makes paperback, hardcover and Kindle covers to fit your page count.
Can I import a Word file into Reedsy Studio?
Reedsy says you can “Import your current manuscript from any major text format.” Book Studio starts from the Word file you wrote your book in and checks that every paragraph and every bold and italic came across.
Does Reedsy Studio check my book?
Reedsy says it has “rigorously tested our EPUBs to ensure maximum compatibility with all distributors and retailers.” Its pages do not describe a check of each finished book. Book Studio checks every word, bold and italic against your Word file, and measures every page against Amazon’s print rules.
